Tuesday, March 31, 2009

The metal-face masked vaudeville villain returns in 2009 with Born Like This on Lex Records. Doom (formerly MF Doom, aka Daniel Dumile, aka Metal Face, aka Metal Fingers, aka Zev Love X, aka King Geedorah, aka Supervillain, aka Viktor Vaughn, not to mention the MC portion of Madvillain and Danger Doom) is a clearly still a mad man on the mic. Not to mention, the dude changes names like I change hats [often].

With Born Like This, Doom falls heavily on his comic book rhyming roots, spinning the eerie tale of the inner workings of the mind of the villain whose mask he dons. The title comes from the Charles Bukowski poem 'Dinosauria, We' a reading of which by the poet himself is the main feature of the track 'Cellz' [See here for the full poem].

Every track has that oddball eerie charm for which Doom has built a reputation. He produces most of the tracks, with J Dilla, Jake One, and Madlib filling in most of the gaps. In typical Doom fashion, the skits, intros, and outros quilt a story all their own. Less samples from the classic Fantastic 4 animated series that Doom relied heavily on in MM...Food? and Operation Doomsday, but still no loss for pop culture references, including clips from Cops on track 6 'Rap Ambush' which are cleverly blended into the overall story.

All in all its a great album. The only track I'm not feeling is tack 15 'Supervillainz' featuring Kurious, Mobonix, and Slug. I just can't get into that bizzarre ass auto-tuned wail in the refrain. Meh. Maybe it'll grow on me. For a good laugh, pay close attention to track 8 'Batty Boyz'. It's basically a 3:16 minute gay joke about Superman and Batman & Robin. "Oh shoot/ Get a load of that fruit/ In thigh high boots, red tighty whities, and blue cat suit." I'm typically turned off of an album by anything resembling homophobic lyrics (which was the case with 90s Buju Banton and most Gangsta Rap), but the fact that it's main theme is questioning the excess of spandex in superhero outfits, as well as challenging the much-debated plutonic status of the relationship between Batman and Robin, is amusing to say the least. Though I will say that some of the samples utilized are a bit much.

Anyway, I recommend the album to any Doom fans for sure -- you won't be disappointed -- as well as any fans of alternative hip-hop in general. Doom is refreshing amidst all the bullshit overproduction of a lot of popular MCs out there today. Lyrically, he's like a bizarre mix of RZA and Mos Def with beats like GZA meets saturday morning cartoons and old school minimalism. Check below for a link to the whole album.


Doom: Born Like This
01. Supervillain Intro (Prod. By Doom)(Co-Prod. By & Feat. Mr. Chop)
02. Gazzillion Ear (Prod. By J Dilla)
03. Ballskin (Prod. By Jake One)
04. Yessir! (Feat. Raekwon) (Prod. By Doom)
05. Absolutely (Prod. By Madlib)
06. Rap Ambush (Prod. By Jake One)
07. Lightworks (Prod. By J Dilla)
08. Batty Boyz (Prod. By Doom)
09. Angelz (Feat. Tony Starks) (Prod. By Doom)
10. Cellz (Prod. By Doom) (Co-Prod. By & Feat. Mr. Chop)
11. Still Dope (Feat. Empress Starhh Tha Femcee) (Prod. By Doom)
12. Microwave Mayo (Prod. By Jake One)
13. More Rhymin’ (Prod. By Jake One)
14. That’s That (Prod. By Doom)
15. Supervillainz (Feat. Kurious, Mobonix & Slug) (Prod. By Doom) (Co-Prod. By & Feat. Mr. Chop)
16. Bumpy’s Message (Feat. Bumpy Knuckles) (Prod. By Doom) (Co-Prod. By & Feat. Mr. Chop)
17. Thank Yah (Prod. By Doom)

Test it out here and buy it if you like it:



Copyright 2010/2011 WaitinForTheDJ.

Home: WaitinForTheDJ.org