Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Already another update on the upcoming Gorillaz album. Their 3rd LP will be titled Plastic Beach and will feature Mos Def as a character called SunMoonStars.

The story behind the album goes like this...
“Five years on from the release of Demon Days, Murdoc Niccals and co. return with Gorillaz. The band have taken up residence, recording on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific, a Plastic Beach HQ, made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity. This Plastic Beach is the furthest point from any landmass on Earth; the most deserted spot on the planet.”
Accordingly, the first track available for download features Mos (along with Bobby Womack) and is called "Stylo."

"Stylo" featuring Mos Def and Bobby Womack

The album will also feature Little Dragon, Snoop Dogg, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, and Kano.

Look for Plastic Beach to drop March 8th.

1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy and The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

Click the image below to read a full article on the band's new project...




Copyright 2010/2011 WaitinForTheDJ.