Monday, March 22, 2010

Here's a quick review of Waitin' for the DJ's current projects...

The Men With Beards is a collaborative project beginning with producer MikeGDammit! of St. Louis & MC Tucker Booth of Los Angeles. However, while the core of the group rests on the backs of these two, the list of official members (known as the Men With Beards) is potentially endless. Confirmed so far are a wide range of MCs, musicians, and DJs from St. Louis to DC to Cali and elsewhere, with more to be added as projects develop.

Look for the introductory The Dark Side EP in early 2011 and a full-length LP to follow. For updates, be sure to follow (and "like") the group on facebook HERE. Also, check Waitin for the DJ for updates on the status of the EP, LP, and other projects and news in development.



The Waitin for the DJ Live Mixtape is comprised of a series of live freestyles, remixes, and exclusive tracks from some of St. Louis' most prominent hip-hop artists. It's unique, not only because it is the first (that I know of) completely live recorded mixtape, but also because it is made up of completely spontaneous performances, with every track only getting one take. It definitely has a live studio spontaneous vibe that couldn't really be captured any other way.

This project is a collaborative effort between Waitin for the DJ, The U (UMSL Student Radio Station), Ghetto Blastic, The Soulition DJs, MadeMonarchs, and The Frozen Food Section.

Featured artists:
Prince Ea
Black Spade
QB of Family Affair
Tef Poe
Corey Black
Teresa Jenee
Rockwell Knuckles
Nato Caliph
Jabari Pendelton
Bryant Stewart
Shaun Li
MK Stallings
Indiana Rome
Wayne Scott II
Will Hump
Mic Young

Featuring local beats from:
Hawthorne Headhunters
As well as industry and indy beats

The first official Waitin for the DJ Summer Jam Tape is here. Be sure to slap this shit on CD-R and crank it up in the car with the windows down (unless you have the AC on - save that shit).

Also, download and/or purchase the projects available from all the featured artists. (You can get most of them for $0.)

Catch the download, tracklist, and links below.

Peace. Cool out.


01 Rockwell Knuckles: Bad Guy ft. Tef Poe (Choose Your Own Adventure)
02 Jonathan Toth from Hoth: 'Member That? (Sick Boys)
03 Black Spade: The Cool Out ft. El Prez & Vandalyzm (Build and Destroy)
04 Orie: Walk Away (What a Black Man Wants)
05 Teresa Jenee: What You Want ft. Bryant Stewart (Single)
06 Prince Ea: 4321 Freestyle (Single)
07 Jonezy: Top Notch ft. Spark1Duh? (Mr. FillintheBlank)
08 Vandalyzm: Dear Moleskine ft. Finale (Vandalyzm is Not the Father)
09 Nodzilla: A Better Way ft. Tef Poe (Nodzilla's Baadasssss EP)
10 Splitface: The Autumn (The Autumn EP)
11 Corey Black: Sex, Drugs, and Rock N Roll (Play it By Ear)
12 Steddy P: Format ft. Approach, DJ Mahf, & Reach (Format Digital 12")
13 Hawthorne Headhunters: Never Give Up (Hawthorne Headhunters Mixtape)
14 Earthworms: Circles ft. Raashan Ahmad (Nightcrawlers: 101 Mixtape)
15 Heavyset: Your Favorite MC (Heavyset EP)
16 William H: '96 Bulls (DOF: 103)

The Features EP is a bit different from other Waitin for the DJ projects. It features all original beats by MikeG (aka DJI). The music is heavily sample-based and relies almost exclusively on classic era movie clips and soundtracks.

Featured MCs include:
Jonathan Toth from Hoth (aka James Blond)
Original Sin (of the group Pandelerium)
and others still to be confirmed.

Since it is still in the early stages of production, the tracklisting and list of featured artists is continually changing and being updated. (That's why the cover changes continually.)

To get an idea of the sound of the album, check out some samples of the instrumentals here:

Look for this to drop this season. As always, stay posted to for details as they develop.




Copyright 2010/2011 WaitinForTheDJ.